Erwin Harahap

do Now or Never

Lenovo Thinkpad T440s won’t turn on [Solved]

Posted by Erwin on May 28, 2016

I have a 2 years old T440s with touch screen. The pc won’t boot and the LED lights on the Fn, F1, & F4 keys are permanently lit. Holding down the power button isn’t force restarting or doing anything.

I do some basic things like removing and plug it back batteries, removing and plug it back power cable, pressing power button for 30 sec, pressing some combination keys, even by pressing combination power button with several keys, etc, and makes me very frustrated.

I think I will lost my best friend, but I try  finding solution by internet.

Then I found solution on lenovo forum:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-T400-T500-and-newer-T/T440s-not-responding-restarting/td-p/1497468

The solution is quite simple actually. I keep the battery plug, but I remove power cable. Then, I press the emergency button in the tiny emergency hole at the back of laptop, using a needle. When I pressed the emergency button, the led on the Fn, F1, & F4 are lit off. Then, I press the power button, the engine kick in, and everything runs normally.

Hopefully this information is useful for anyone who face the same problem.

Leave a Reply

 
